Excellence in Training


The Irish Association of Dermatologists (IAD) strongly supports excellence in research and audit by dermatology trainees.  This is promoted by means of the competitions and scholarships.  


Competitions are conducted at the bi-annual meetings of the IAD.  These are open to Dermatology Trainees in Ireland and the UK and are applied for by means of submission of an abstract.  From Autumn 2015, the abstract submission process will be an online process, available here (hyperlink) during open calls.  Reminders and links will also be sent for all those who are members of the IAD or registered on the abstract submission portal.  The pathway will be launched for the Autumn 2015 meeting of the IAD.  

Authors of successful abstracts will be asked to present their work at the bi-annual meetings of the IAD, either as an oral presentation or as a poster presentation.  

Travel Scholarship

AAD Annual Meeting Registration Scholarships

  • Call for applications Mid-June, successful applicants notified Mid- August
  • Applications submitted by email to the Honorary Secretary.
  • Two scholarships available each year.

IAD Travel Fellowships

  • Application form
  • Closing date 30th November annually
  • All trainee members and consultants within 3 years of appointment are eligible to apply.
  • Four scholarships @ £1,000 available each year.

Travelling Fellowship Reports

Dr Aizuri Murad IAD Travelling Fellowship Report 2016

Wedad Abdelrahman Travelling Fellowship Report 2016

IAD Prizes and Awards

1. Burrows' Cup
Awarded for the best Oral Presentation at the Spring Meeting , specifically for scientific research. 

2. Rogers' Plate
Awarded for the best Oral Presentation at the Autumn Meeting, Specifically for clinical research.  

3. Poster Prize
Awarded for best Poster Presentation at the Spring Meetings.

Oral presentations 

Oral presentations are delivered at a Registrars' symposium.  

The Burrows' Cup and a bursary is awarded to the best oral presentation of scientific research at the Spring meeting of the IAD.  

The Rogers' Prize and a bursary is awarded to the best oral presentation of clinical research at the Autumn meeting of the IAD.  

Poster presentations

Posters will be displayed during the meetings of the IAD. Prize awarded for the best poster presentations at spring meeting only. 

Abstract Guidance

The abstract should include a summary of the study’s:

  • aims
  • methods 
  • results 
  • conclusions

The work presented should not have been previously published and will not be eligible for subsequent submission for the Burrows Cup/Rogers Prize at the following IAD meeting. The applicant should be the principal author and have carried out the bulk of the work him/herself.


Republic of Ireland Specialist Registrar Training Information

There are currently 17 specialist training posts in the Republic of Ireland.  The standard  training programme is 5 years duration, during which trainees are encouraged to develop a sub-speciality interest. Out of programme experience can be granted to permit the trainee to complete a higher research dergree.

The curriculum for Dermatology HST training is available via the Royal College of Physicians in Ireland.

Figure 1 Dermatology training in the Republic of Ireland


* or equivalent degree
~ optional

The current National Speciality Directors in Dermatology are:

Dr Sinead Field, Consultant Dermatologist in University Hospital Limerick.
Dr Richard Watchorn, Consultant Dermatologist in Beaumont Hospital Dublin.


  • Paula Beatty
  • Stephanie Bowe
  • Berbie Byrne
  • Ciara Drumm
  • Claire Doyle
  • Eimear Duff
  • Catriona Gallagher
  • Aoife Granahan
  • Laoise Griffin
  • Laoise Griffin
  • Roisin Hambly
  • Aoife Hollywood
  • Elizabeth Keeling
  • Lisa Kiely
  • Fiona Lynch
  • Orla McFeely
  • Gregg Murray
  • Grainne O'Callaghan
  • Garret O'Connell
  • Cathal O'Connor
  • Ciara O'Grady
  • Ciara O'Keeffe
  • Emily Pender
  • James Ralph
  • Amy Ridge
  • Darren Roche
  • Nick Stefanovic
  • Emma Tierney
  • Irene Timoney
  • Olga Tummon


Northern Ireland SpR Training Information

Training Programme Director: Dr Victoria Campbell, Consultant Dermatologist South Eastern Trust.

The TPD sits on the Joint Royal Colleges of Physicians Training Board’s (JRCPTB) Specialist Advisory Panel, SAC.
Deanery: Northern Ireland Medical and Dental Training Agency

Northern Ireland Training Programme:
We have 8 substantive training posts in Northern Ireland. They are linked to the Belfast and South Eastern Trust and rotate between the Royal Victoria Hospital,  Belfast City Hospital and the Ulster Hospital with rotations to other Trusts once weekly. The Dermatology speciality training is 4 years. Less than full time training is also available, “LTFT”.

Trainees are encouraged to develop a sub-speciality interest. Out of programme experience can be granted to permit the trainee to pursue leadership opportunities through teh Northern Ireland Medical and Dental Training Agency (NIMDTA) or complete a higher research dergree to MD or PhD level.

We follow the UK training scheme. On completion of training the trainee is awarded CCT (Certificate of Completion of Training) Dermatology and their name is placed on the General Medical Council’s Specialist Register.

The JRCPTB is a Federation of Royal Colleges of Physicians of the UK body responsible for delivering the three Colleges' role in setting and maintaining standards for physician specialist training in the UK.

This involves, monitoring individual trainees' progress through specialist training, providing expertise and advice as required for trainees and their supervisors, and to make recommendations for the award of Certificate of Completion of Training (CCT) and Certificate confirming Eligibility for Specialist Registration (CESR) via the combined programme pathway.  Assessment of successful acquisition of the competencies stipulated in curricula for Core Medical Training and Specialty Training is based upon assessment systems carefully mapped onto each curriculum. These systems will measure the progress of trainees using a framework (or blueprint) of workplace-based assessments (WPBA) and knowledge based assessments (KBA) including the MRCP(UK) examination.  Trainee progress, measured by assessment and other evidence, will be recorded using the Annual Review of Competence Progression (ARCP) system described in the Gold Guide.   ‘ARCP Decision Aids' have been written for CMT and each specialty to define the requirements for successful progression at ARCP.  Each assessment system has been designed around the principles established by the Postgraduate Medical Education and Training Board (now merged with the General Medical Council), and mapped to the domains of Good Medical Practice.

Current Northern Ireland Trainee List:

  • Dr Fawad Aslam
  • Dr Myranda Attard
  • Dr Grace Boyd
  • Dr Shahd Elamin
  • Dr Alicia Goh
  • Dr Niamh Kearney
  • Dr Julie MacMahon
  • Dr Matthew Nicol
  • Dr Laura Surgenor
  • Dr Jo-Yve Wong


Web links:

Curriculum: Important documents

JRCPTB Specialty Training Curriculum for Dermatology 2010 (ammendment August 2012) (PDF 1.3 MB)

The Gold Guide (Formerly "A Reference Guide for Postgraduate Specialty Training in the UK") (PDF 1.6 MB)

MRCPUK Regulations and Information for Candidates for Specialty Certificate Examinations 2015 (PDF 511 KB)

JRCPTB Dermatology ARCP Decision Aid – August 2014 (PDF 177 KB)

The British Association of Dermatologists - A Guide to Training in Dermatology (136 KB)